Epson Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Epson
Shop All-in-One Printers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Epson.

Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer

Designed for Simplicity. Print, copy, scan and more — get all the performance you need from the sleek, quiet, user-friendly Expression Home XP-400. With easy wireless printing*1, this Small-in-One can be shared with everyone in your household. Epson Connect™ offers convenient mobile printing from smartphones, tablets and more*1. The XP-400 also supports Apple® AirPrint™ and Google Cloud Print™. This compact performer even offers card slots for PC-free printing. Scan and archive important documents, quickly produce color copies, and use the image enhancement tools to get perfect prints, every time. When youre in a rush, you can grab your prints and go, thanks to DURABrite® Ultra instant-dry ink. The Expression Home XP-400 even offers individual ink cartridges so you can replace only the color that you need.
Average Customer Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(499 Reviews) 499
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 499 reviews
5 Stars
281
4 Stars
130
3 Stars
36
2 Stars
24
1 Star
28
428 out of 499(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Review 101 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bruni53
Location:Rosemount, MN
I have used this product for:less than a week
Expertise:beginner
I use this product for:Personal

Excellent

Date:April 5, 2013
"Super easy to set up and operate. I FINALLY found a printer I can actually figure out.
Will recommend this brand to anyone."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 102 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sammy
Location:Lubbock TX
I have used this product for:less than a week
Expertise:beginner
I use this product for:Personal

Date:April 5, 2013
"XP-400 was very easy to install and I only used it once but everything was great as I know it will be in the future"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 103 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CiCi
Location:Gurnee, Illinois
I have used this product for:1 week - 1 month
Expertise:advanced
I use this product for:Business

Quite content

Date:April 5, 2013
"Very happy with the ease of set up and the printing abilities. Perfect for my printing needs. I also have the WF-3540. This XP-400 was purchased because I have had nothing but good experiences with Epson printers. My only gripe is that the buttons are not very responsive. But at the same time, I've been spoiled by the WF-3540 touch screen :)"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 104 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Spring Hill Florida
I have used this product for:1 week - 1 month
Expertise:intermediate
I use this product for:Personal

Excelent EPSON printer

Date:April 4, 2013
"I have two Epson products and two other products, The Epson products are far and away the superior
products, not only are they simple to install but function properly as they should. The tech support is much better than the others. I would most definitely recommend the Epson products and discourage anyone interested in the other.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 105 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Skip
Location:Alaska
I have used this product for:1 week - 1 month
Expertise:advanced
I use this product for:Personal

Excellent product Excellent Price

Date:April 4, 2013
"I found the installation and connection to my wireless network to be relatively easy, and straight forward. The instructuions were precise and easy to follow. The print quality seems very good both B/W and color compared to the all in one printer I was replaceing. I have not printed a photo yet or explored all the editing options yet but based on what I have exprienced I feel they will perform equally well."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 106 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobcat
Location:Hamburg, New York
I have used this product for:6 months or more
Expertise:beginner
I use this product for:Personal

Date:April 3, 2013
"so far this is the best printer i have owned and is easy to operate and the instruction book is easy to understand, i would highly recommend this to anyone who needs a printer for home use!!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 107 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
I have used this product for:6 months or more
Expertise:intermediate
I use this product for:Personal

XP400

Date:April 3, 2013
"The XP400 is a good printer,but it could be a great printer if it had good ink carterages. If the inkcarterages where any smaller Epson would have trouble makeing them. Good printer,bad ink."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 108 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pottery chick
Location:Virginia Beach, Va
I have used this product for:1 month - 6 months
Expertise:intermediate
I use this product for:Personal

Epson XP-400

Date:April 3, 2013
"Absolutely love this printer. Favorite feature is the WIFI. Love that I can be at the kitchen table, in my recliner or where ever and not have to be tethered by a cord. Setup was easy. Very easy to use even though I am advanced in age but not in technical savvy."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 109 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hawk
Location:Fort myers florida
I have used this product for:1 week - 1 month
Expertise:intermediate
I use this product for:Personal

All in 1

Date:April 3, 2013
"Just installed all in 1 seems to copy ok but have not linked up with cell phone. Works from iPad but not from phone. So working on fix for iPhone will keep updated on progress. One last note Slowest printer copier I have ever had thanks. The Hawk"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 110 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
troubadour
Location:Austin, TX
I have used this product for:less than a week
Expertise:advanced
I use this product for:Personal

Nice little printer

Date:April 3, 2013
"Quality of printing so far is excellent. With previous printer, if one color was out of ink, it wouldn't print even in B&W. Hope that isn't the case here as I'd rather just have B&W in that case. Setup not as easy as some have found and wireless function DOES NOT WORK at least, I couldn't get it going after instructions said, "set up with USB cable first." USB cable NOT included so I'm using an old one. Wireless function is one reason I bought it so that's disappointing. But overall, pretty happy with it."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 111 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry R.
Location:Hawthorne , CA
I have used this product for:1 week - 1 month
Expertise:advanced
I use this product for:Personal

Printer

Date:April 3, 2013
"By far the best printer for the money. I have had this printer about two months and it works great . I have used all the features and I have not had any issues ."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 112 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Emmett, KS
I have used this product for:less than a week
Expertise:advanced
I use this product for:Personal

Performance

Date:April 3, 2013
"I have used all the functions of this printer. I am very satisified with this printer. The pictures printing are of excellent quality. I would recommend this printer to anybody."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 113 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hug3gy
Location:Mesa, Arizona
I have used this product for:1 month - 6 months
Expertise:advanced
I use this product for:Personal

Love the Epson Home XP-400 Printer!

Date:April 3, 2013
"I have never used an Epson product before but based my purchase on other reviews. I was looking for a reliable printer/scanner for home use.
After using this printer for several months, I am VERY impressed. The wireless set-up was quick and easy and the accompanying directions were clear. The cartridges last quite a long time (I print at least one piece of text per day) and changing them is easy. Copies are clear. Best of all, the printer was not expensive compared to other similar home printers. No negatives at all and I would recommend this printer to anyone for home use.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 114 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enrico_70
Location:Haslet,Texas
I have used this product for:less than a week
Expertise:beginner
I use this product for:Personal

quick n easy

Date:April 3, 2013
"I am not savy when comes all this computer stuff but this was easy a caveman can do it"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 115 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeni
Location:Hawaii
I have used this product for:less than a week
Expertise:beginner
I use this product for:Personal

Good so far!

Date:April 3, 2013
"I just got my new printer up and running. I was really pleased with how easy it was to set up. Physically, it's just take all the plastic off, plug it in, turn it on, and put the ink in. Then I just typed in my home wifi password, and it was connected!
The computer software downloaded quickly from the Epson website, and was also super easy to install. Very user friendly, very mac-like in its ease of use.
I was worried about installing the software myself, because I always think I'm going to screw it up, and had asked my boyfriend to do it because he is one of those "good with computers" people. But he was lazy today so I did it myself and I realized I totally didn't need his help at all. Even a Phd student could install this thing.
I haven't printed a lot of things on it, but I'm excited to! I can use it from my iPad as well, which I'm stoked about.
So far it's great! I wanted something to put ink on paper, and this does all that and so much more! Everything you could want from a home printer.
Also! I learned that lower priced Epson printers like this one have something called a "print head" as part of the printer, as opposed to other brands, which have them as part of the ink cartridge. So you ALWAYS have to fully power the printer down by pressing the power button (as opposed to pulling the plug or shutting off the power strip) because it will clean off the print head as part of its shut down procedure. If you don't do this, it could clog the print head and then you've ruined your nice new printer. So do that.
That's all. I recommend this printer if you need a printer for printing things!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 116 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
macsaber
Location:Homestead, FL
I have used this product for:6 months or more
Expertise:advanced
I use this product for:Personal

XP400

Date:April 2, 2013
"A very good all-in-one printer for home use. Able to scan, copy and print from my Mac mini. Only issue I have is to order ink cartridges from Epson directly. Can't get High Yield cartridges anywhere like in Best Buy, Staple, or Walmart."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 117 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
donshrd
Location:Crossville, TN
I have used this product for:6 months or more
Expertise:intermediate
I use this product for:Personal

Excellent all around machine

Date:April 2, 2013
"Makes copies easily and quick. Scan and send documents as PDF very easily. Don't need fax function.
Great all around machine
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 118 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Chino Valley, AZ
I have used this product for:1 month - 6 months
Expertise:intermediate
I use this product for:Personal

Date:April 2, 2013
"I purchased the XP-400 in Dec 2012 for its air-printing feature with iPad & iMac. This works great. The quality of printing & scanning also is very good so far. However, the front control panel that should open and extend out to an angle opens exceedingly hard. Have to exert considerable force to initially unlatch it from the close position. Once unlatched it appears to open smoothly. I WOULD LIKE SOMEONE FROM EPSON TO CONTACT ME AND GET THIS DEFECT FIXED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 119 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AtlRising39
Location:Atlanta, GA
I have used this product for:1 month - 6 months
Expertise:intermediate
I use this product for:Personal

Awesome Printer, Great Price

Date:April 2, 2013
"I have not bought a printer in quite a while since I don't use one too terribly often. So as you can imagine, I was a little skeptical when purchasing a printer in general for fear that I would be buying something I wouldn't use all the time, therefore not getting my money out of it. The price tag is what initially made me consider this product. Then as I read on about the features included, I became more open to the idea of making a purchase. After using this printer for about a month, I can safely say that this product is worth a shot! It includes everything I need to print random jobs at home. I can now fill my cubicle with pictures of my family without having to go to fedex/kinkos and spend an arm and a leg to get what I want. One of the more interesting features for me was the ability to print wirelessly. I love to be able to snap a picture of my daughter with my phone and have a copy of it print a few seconds later. The copy function is great, and the quality is better than I expected (but then again I've been out of the printer loop for a while). The scanner is also great quality, with the ability to scan directly to .pdf. I didn't even have to hook this thing up to my mac with a chord. Just plugged it in, set up the wireless connection, and I was printing in minutes. The fold out (walk-uo) touch pad is of fair quality and is easy to use. For the money, I feel like I got a great product that will serve its purpose as a general use home printer."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 120 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One™ All-in-One Printer
Ratings: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:6 months or more
Expertise:intermediate
I use this product for:Business

Epson XP-400

Date:April 2, 2013
"It's a great little printer,scanner and photo printer. It's small footprint is very nice. The only drawback are the ink cartridges . . . they're very small and I am having difficulty located the XL cartridges with a larger ink supply."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.